Second Life blogging quality versus quantity: Will you dare to be epic?


As someone that has been blogging SL fashion since 2008, I found this article a good capture of all the changes that have taken place since then.
When I first started out, blogging was less complicated. I shopped, styled and shared with my readers. I had relationships with a few stores and even served as a tester for products before they were released. Designers created for sale in their stores; the plethora of daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly sales events was not prevalent. Participation is such events were almost exclusive to certain designers or types of designers.
Now, stores are in a multitude of events. Every day, they are adding something new (or not so new) to these shopping events (far too many in my opinion!).Their production of product has seemed to quadruple in some cases. Variety for consumer, yes! Headache for the blogger, yes!
Luckily, I have a small group of designers that I work with and feature on my blog. I love and support them all. With several of them, I have had long-standing relationships that will continue long past the days I may blog for them. However, I understand (and see) the pressure that new bloggers face. Some of that pressure has even crept up on an old head like me (esp. with Flickr, ugh). And I don’t like that.
Any SL blogger, esp. fashion related, can find some interesting points to take away from this article. Another must read!

SL Blogger Support

In my blog post about driving more traffic to your archived content, I told you I’d be helping you stay organised with an editorial calendar. Well, for this post I’ve decided to change tack a little: I won’t be laying down specific recommendations about how frequent or how regular you should publish, because frankly, there is much more to the story – and it’s a story that strikes at the heart of what kind of blogger you choose to be. Before you can decide on what kind of posting schedule is right for you, you have to decide if you will be a blogger that prioritises quality or quantity.

First, let’s talk about blog post quantity

Should you post once or twice per day? Three times a week? Twice? Once a week? Less often than that?

Many Second Life bloggers wrestle with this question daily. Some I’ve spoken to tell…

View original post 3,839 more words